Googling your interviewers… creepy, or cool?

November 14, 2006 at 11:32 pm Leave a comment

Posted by Dee

Maybe I’m just creepy, but I definitely Googled (well, Yahooed actually…) my interviewers before I had my interviews!

It’s amazing how much information is out there about people on the Internet, and you never know if something you find might come in handy. For example, I found out plenty of really interesting information on my MIT interviewer; he had founded two companies in the Silicon Valley, had run for student government in his sophomore year, and had been on a Lacrosse team in college.

Again, some people my find it a bit stalker-like, so let me explain what my search was motivated by.

During interview season, I was always worried that I wouldn’t be able to keep conversation flowing well enough! So, to preempt any awkward silences, I found it useful to find out a little more on my interviewers before meeting them. This way, I could prepare some questions ahead of time for them. For instance, continuing with the MIT example, since I knew he had been involved on campus, I was able to ask, “did you get involved in campus activities?” knowing that I would get an affirmative answer and explanation, rather than just asking blindly and potentially receiving an awkward response like, “Um, no. Sorry I can’t tell you much about that.”

Sometimes you may not find any information about the person, or other times you may not even find the right person (if their name is really common, for example). But, my philosophy is that if it takes less than a second for a search engine to search your interviewer’s name and potentially find some valuable, if not interesting, information, why not do it?

Entry filed under: Answer, Business, California, Debate, Education, Extracurricular activities, Google, Interview questions, Interviews, Lacrosse, Leadership, MIT, Philosophy, Question, Search engine, Sophomore, Team, Website, Yahoo!.

Recommended, but not required? Response to Gail

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos

Princeton University's Nassau Hall

Cornell University in snow

University of Pennsylvania

More Photos

