Response to Stephanie and stressed applicant on changing UC apps

December 3, 2006 at 10:30 pm 5 comments

Posted by Dee

Wow! AdmitSpit’s been getting comments galore the past few days (which we’re loving by the way!) and here’s two we received regarding changing your UC application after the due date.

Here’s Stephanie’s comment on the post titled, “Recommended SAT Subject Tests for special UC programs.”

“I just applied to 6 UC’s: Berkeley, LA, San Diego, Davis, Irvine, Santa Barbara, with mostly undeclared majors in biological/life sciences. I took the Math Level 2 in June 2006 and scored a 650. Since I wanted to raise my score, I took it again in December.. but I don’t think my score improved much. My Chinese SAT 2 score is 790, and my SAT score is 2080. Will my math score greatly hurt my chances of getting in? And is there any way to change what major I put on my application? Or is it pretty much set in stone…”

And, stressed applicant wrote on yesterday’s post titled, “Response to Britt on SAT retakes,” the following:

“Hello! This comment is not related to the post. I know that I can add an additional campus after I’ve submitted my application. But can I change one of the campus I’ve applied?
Thank you!”

Let us address Stephanie’s comment first: You applied for biological/life sciences-type majors and submitted a decent SAT Math Level 2 score of 650, and a very high other SAT score of 790 which has nothing to do with science. Your SAT scores are okay; above average at Berkeley, which is the hardest of the UCs to be accepted to, but not outstanding enough to pretty much guarantee you a spot. I think you have a decent shot at getting in, but my only question to you, which is a question I’m sure the AdComm’s will be asking as well, is why, if you are interested in studying bio, did you not take the SAT Subject Test in Biology E/M or Chemistry at least?!

It’s my understanding that you can NOT change majors after submitting your application. I think you’ll be fine with these scores, especially since you applied undeclared within the science arena. Also, any alternate majors you listed could help you as well. So as a final answer to your questions: No, I don’t think your math score will significantly impact your getting accepted or rejected, especially since there are also grades and extracurriculars to consider. And, yes, the majors you indicated are “pretty much set in stone.”

So, on to stressed applicant’s comment regarding changing your UC app after the November 30 deadline: You are right that you can add campuses after submitting your application, but alas, no you cannot substitute new campuses for your original choices. Best bet is just to pay the extra money for adding additional campuses, and better do it early because the UC will only honor requests to add campuses if there’s space available.

Entry filed under: Academics, Accepted, Admissions, AdmitSpit, Application, Biology, Campus, Chemistry, Chinese, Deadline, Extracurricular activities, Major, Mathematics, Money, Procrastination, Rejected, SAT, Science, Stress, Testing, Tips/Tricks, UC Berkeley, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UCLA, UCSB, University of California.

Response to Britt on SAT retakes How “x” does academics: x = Tufts

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ralph B  |  December 5, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    Hi there. My question is on how big a factor test results, nationality and race are in the American admissions process.
    I just took the SAT subject tests for the first time last Saterday. I think I got about 700 on the math 1, 650 on the level 2, and no idea on the chemistry, but it’s probabaly in the 500’s. How will the top schools see this, and how much difference would the fact that I’m a Canadian Indian (which legally means I’m also an American Indian) make?
    Otherwise, I have a 90% grade average, and scored 88% and 85% on the two Alberta Diploma standardized tests (chem. and pure math) I’ve taken about 8 months ago. I paticipate in a volunteer organization and student government, and I’m sure I could get good teacher references and essays done.
    The big question I have is: Would it be worth it to make a 10 hour drive this Saterday to the nearest ACT test center (I haven’t taken it or the SAT before) or should I just forget it? Thanks for your time.

    Reply
  • 2. Lena  |  December 6, 2006 at 4:53 am

    I’m a junior in high school currently. If I choose colleges to send SAT or AP scores to (since the tests usually allow you to submit a few free score reports to colleges), what will happen? Will the colleges just ignore the scores since you are not yet applying or is it helpful?

    Reply
  • 3. Ralph B  |  December 6, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Yeah, I originally wanted to take the SAT but they wouldn’t let me take it and the SAT II’s on the same day. I really really should have taken all these tests earlier! Anyway, the thing that worried me was that when I looked at college websites, a lot of them have December as their test deadlines. The other big thing was that when I talked to a counseller at a school that administers the test, she said that the ACT is more in line with Canadian curriculum.

    P.S. How small would you say my odds are at getting into a school like MIT or Harvard? Thank you.

    Reply
  • 4. Dee  |  December 7, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    Ooh, I see your dilemma. In that case, if you’re really set on applying to those schools and you have to take the ACT, I guess there’s no choice except to drive 10 hours! I’d say MIT, if you applied to a science or math major, is probably out of the picture because your scores are a little low in math compared to what they usually accept, but Harvard, again depending on what concentration you applied for, because it’s a liberal arts school, I’d say you have a better shot for. Again, I think essays and teacher recs are what will make the difference in your case, so I hope they were good!

    Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  November 18, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to post this, my school has been completely uselss with regards to this kind of information

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos


