I was deferred; now what?!

December 16, 2006 at 6:42 pm 1 comment

Posted by Dee

I was deferred from Stanford last year.

I checked my decision online during school at around noon, saw that I was deferred, and shrugged it off, until, of course, the second I got into my car at 3:05 p.m., I cried and screamed about how “f*cking unfair” and how “f*cking f*cked up” it was that I didn’t get in early!

Yes, I know, the language was crude indeed, but the point is, it’s fine, I think, to let out your frustration about being deferred; yes, I agree, it’s quite unnerving to have to wait even longer to find out about your admission decision, but there comes a point when you move on and say, “now what?”

I mean “now what” not with a sarcastic tone, but rather “now what do I do to complete my application for my early admission school?”

You may be confused; “Didn’t I already finish my application?”

The answer is no! In all likelihood, the school you were deferred from will ask you to send in mid-year report forms to show your grades for the first semester of your senior year (this is very important so keep those grades up!), AND a form updating them on any accomplishments or honors or projects you’ve received or been working on since the time you applied.

The form is basically a one-pager with two or three short answer style questions.

Here’s where you learn from my mistake though; I submitted that form a day after it was due! This is very stupid. Definitely don’t submit this form within a week of receiving it, because you may not have much to write about, but definitely do not submit it on the last day either. Keep the form in mind, and have the intention of submitting it two to four weeks before it’s due. Maybe it’s not even a bad idea to flip a few pages on your calendar and find an appropriate way to remind yourself that that one page update form is due to your early admissions school.

Entry filed under: Admissions, Answer, Application, Deadline, Defer, Early action, Early decision, Grades, Honor, Language, Semester, Senior, Stanford, Stress, Timing, Tips/Tricks, Transcript.

Judgment day Response to Denise

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mimi  |  January 8, 2007 at 2:13 am

    Hi,

    I was deferred from my early school in December. I’ve now finished my RD applications and realized that my new essays are infinitely better than the ones I sent in early. Can I now send in my new essays to replace the ones I sent in a while ago? The RD deadline for this school has passed, however.

    Thanks for everything!
    -Mimi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos


