Response to Edie

January 6, 2007 at 1:11 am 1 comment

Posted by Dee

So, it may seem as though December was a month of abandonment for our dear AdmitSpit site, but I assure you it is temporary! Vacation’s over for us, so it’s back to responding to questions and dishing out college admissions talk as usual.

Edie commented recently on the post titled, “National Merit Semifinalist essay,” the following:

“I took the PSAT in early October and found out this week (January 4th) that I am a semifinalist. I have two concerns.

1) When I got my PSAT scores from my guidance counselor, he said that there was a possibility that I might have to take the SAT as part of the process. I got a 2310 on the real SAT in December (with which I was satisfied) and, quite honestly, I don’t want to take it again. Since I took it two months after the PSAT, do you think I will have to take it again?
2.) My GPA is around a 3.6/3.7 on an unweighted scale of 4.0. I took really challenging classes, but do you think this will eliminate me?”

So, response to question one is 2310 is a fine score and I don’t know what your guidance counselor is talking about because no, you shouldn’t have to retake the SAT exam again. Especially not if you’re satisfied with the score.

To question two, I think your GPA is probably okay, especially since National Merit committee will be seeing your whole transcript. The whole reason why they want the school to send in the transcripts to help them with their decision is because they want to make sure the people they choose as finalists are indeed great students and that it wasn’t just an anomaly that they happened to get a high PSAT score to qualify them. I think a 3.7 or 3.8 GPA will demonstrate to them enough that you are a smart kid and you genuinely deserve a spot in the finalist position and that it was not a fluke that you scored well on the PSAT.

Plus, is this your unweighted GPA or a weighted one? If you’re telling us an unweighted GPA then your weighted one should be higher if you took challenging classes, so I really wouldn’t worry; I think you’re well positioned for being a finalist. Write a thoughtful, unique essay, and you should be gold.

Entry filed under: Admissions, AdmitSpit, Classes, Counselor, Elimination, Essays, Finalist, GPA, National merit, SAT, Semi-finalist, Transcript, Vacation, Website.

A “duh” tip #5 Introducing the new and improved AdmitSpit, with photos

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Theodore  |  January 14, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I am nervous as usual about the encounter I will have in two days with the interviewer. My most feared question is why princeton over all the other schools. I mean Yale and Princeton both offer economics and exciting environments. How can you simply decide which is “better” or what makes Princeton tick more than another?!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos


