Either, or… not both?

February 19, 2007 at 8:55 pm 1 comment

Posted by Dee

Robin left us a comment on AdmitSpit’s About page:

“I just heard through the grapevine that students who apply to both UCLA and UC Berkeley are only admitted to one or the other but not both. I really want to go to UCLA but also applied to Berkeley even though it is not one of my top schools. Does anyone know if this is true and if I can withdraw my Berkeley app?”

Basically, I can say quite firmly that this myth is entirely untrue! I too heard this idea “through the grapevine” when I was applying last year, but alas, I was accepted to both schools, and plenty of other students I know were accepted to both too.

Keep in mind that Berkeley is slightly more competitive than UCLA, so even if you didn’t get into one of them, chances are it’d be Berkeley you would not be getting into. I think basically that it’s rare to be accepted to Berkeley but not UCLA; if Berkeley accepts you, UCLA will too, but if Berkeley rejects you, UCLA you may still be accepted to. (I say this of course from both a statistical perspective as well as based on my experience).

Basically, I think it would be very, very foolish to withdraw your Berkeley app (which, by the way, is not possible to do anyways. See the post titled, “Response to Stephanie and stressed applicant on changing UC apps” for details on this matter.) You’ll be fine, Robin; this myth is definitely busted!

Entry filed under: Accepted, Admissions, AdmitSpit, Myth, Rejected, Statistics, Tips/Tricks, UC Berkeley, UCLA, University of California.

Response to Horace: if only SAT improvement could ever be proven What’s lost when Stanford uses the Common App

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. VAP  |  July 2, 2007 at 2:49 am

    not necessarily

    with the amount of applicants for UCLA at 60000+ and a ever growing shortage of freshmen spaces it is actually becoming harder to get into LA. Berkeley has by no means the influx or demand as LA so even though the requirements are higher, LA still is the more strict in terms of mass effect

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos

Princeton University's Nassau Hall

Cornell University in snow

University of Pennsylvania

More Photos

