Response to Elizabeth

November 30, 2006 at 6:17 pm 2 comments

Posted by Dee

AdmitSpit received a comment regarding the UC application from Elizabeth today on the post titled, “Techniques for dealing with character limits.”

I’ll reproduce the comment below:

“Hi I just submitted my uc application yesterday and realized that I went over the word count limit by 35 words. What can I do? Will the college just cut off my essay or should I mail each campus a letter?”

Elizabeth,

I think you needn’t worry about 35 words. The reason I emphasize “think” is because I haven’t seen a print out of your application. I sure hope you, along with every other UC applicant, took the time to print out a copy of your entire application. If so, you could go to the personal statement section and see if it did indeed cut off part of your essay. If it did not you’re probably okay.

The second reason I emphasize “think” is because I hope that this 35 word surplus was not on one response alone, rather that you went maybe 10 words over on one essay and 16 over on another and over by 9 on another; this would be the best scenario as opposed to going 35 words over on one response alone which will be much more obvious.

Obviously it would’ve been ideal to stay within the 1,000 word limit, but in the application instructions it does say, “You must stay within the 1,000-word limit as closely as you can. It is acceptable if you run a little over or under on an individual question. (For example, a word count of 205 or 199 words is fine on your 200-word responses).”

So overall, I don’t see anything you can do about your application now; it seems unnecessary to me to send a letter to each UC campus you applied to–what would you say? Oops, I went over the limit? Sorry?

I would definitely take a look at your paper print-out of the application you submitted. If a few words were cut off your application, it’s not the end of the world and it’s definitely not the end of your chances of getting in, so I wouldn’t stress too much about it.

Entry filed under: AdmitSpit, Answer, Application, Edit, Essays, Guideline, Mail, Online application, Paper, Personal statement, Question, Stress, UC Berkeley, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UCLA, UCSB, University of California, Website, Word limit, Writing.

The last minute When to know if you’re accepted early

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Uncle Su  |  December 2, 2006 at 6:40 am

    Is Elizabeth applying by mail? Because I know for one that if you go beyond the word limit in the online application, the system will not let you proceed with the process anyway.

    Reply
  • 2. Dee  |  December 2, 2006 at 8:26 am

    Excellent point. If she was applying through a paper application and the whole essay fit in the designated area then I definitely don’t see it as being too big of a problem. It’s not like the AdComm is going to count out how many words she used.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


AdmitSpit Photos